#NotInMyName: Islam and I.

Standard

Salam dear friends,

This post is for all the people who want to know the real Islam, the real Muslims…#NotInMyName.

Muslim-know

When I was a kid, I knew I was a Muslim. Of course, when you’re seven (or less), you don’t really understand what does it mean to be a Muslim. I started learning what my religion is about, and what ALLAH asks me to do. I feel blessed for the fact that I was born and raised in a Muslim family.

My father taught me how to pray, he taught me that a part of being a Muslim is praying 5 times a day, and I got used to it. In fact, it’s a daily habit that makes me feel blessed, and happy. My mother gave me the Quran, and told me that this book that I’m holding is my way of living, my constitution, and since then I made it my companion… I’m not saying this to convince anyone of the reality of Islam… Islam talks for itself. It does not need me or you to make it “good” or “pretty”.

Why I’m telling you this ??

Again, I’m not here not to convince you, or make you accept me as a Muslim… No, No.

I’m telling you this to make you know that as a Muslim, I was raised in a very normal way… To make you aware of the real Islam, the real Muslims.

As a Muslim, I was taught to believe in Adam, Jesus, Ibrahim, Moses, Lot, Mohamed ( and the list is long), and that without believing in them my Islam is not complete.

As a Muslim, my father did not ( ever… never) make a difference between me and my brother.

Islam gives me as a girl all the rights that I need and want… I don’t need no one to tell me what my rights are, cause I already know them, I already have them.

Don’t bother yourself and feel sorry for this poor Muslim girl who lives in a “prison” as you call it, who suffers, who’s been treated as a ” slave”, and who can’t go the school, or work or even talk, isn’t that what you’re trying to convince every single person in your society, in my society, in the world ?? Well, you did it, congrats.. But, I don’t think that people will keep on believing you anymore.

Do not judge Islam and say that it is a religion where women don’t have equal opportunities (equal rights);  just because some countries don’t give women the right to study, to work, to drive, to vote, or simply to choose… This is that country’s problem, Islam has nothing to do with it.

 know more

As a Muslim, I was taught that killing is a crime.

Why should I be punished for the things that some ignorant nonhuman -who think they’re Muslims- did.. I don’t think I should.

I take my religion very seriously, I consider it as my way of living.. But you don’t see me killing people… This is because that as a Muslim (a real one) I was taught that if I killed one person it”s like killing the whole nation, the whole world.

There are people who make “the hate of Islam” their career; they keep all day talking about the same old topic: Islam is danger. What they mean is that if I saw a christian or a Hindu passing by,  I’ll change the way, I’ll curse and I’ll even kill… Really ?? Well, thank you for making me know that deep deep inside me, there is a criminal, a monster, a nonhuman.

And what Makes it even worse is that people believe them, people are now afraid of Muslims. What they forget is that Muslim are ordinary people who live in an ordinary way..We don”t have a different blood color.  Our prophet Mohamed (peace be upon Him) dealt with other people from other religions in a beautiful way that can be described in this verse of the Quran “To you be your religion, to me be mine.”  Just take a look at the life of the prophet, and you can draw a picture on how he dealt with different religions, You’ll see that “tolerant” is the perfect word to describe it.

 Muslim-know

As a Muslim, I start the day by saying: بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم  ” b-ismi-llāhi r-raḥmāni r-raḥīmi”, meaning: In the name of God, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful, we say that too if we want to eat, to go out, or to do any other daily activity… Our whole life is based on mercy.

As a Muslim, I’ve learned that respecting others is an obligatory.

As a Muslim; I was taught that smiling to other people is a charity.

As a Muslim, I was taught that we all have equal right.. There is no difference between black and white; woman and man; rich and poor.

As a Muslim, I was taught that I have to treat others the way I want to be treated.

As a Muslim, I was taught to love my parents, my sisters, my brothers, my neighbors, my whole society.

As a Muslim, I was told to read, to collect information, to have an open mind.

As a Muslim, I was taught that I should not talk about a person behind his back.

As a Muslim, I was taught to not spread information, before making sure it’s right, and true.

You made it a fact that Muslims are terrorists, that Islam is a religion of terrorism; and it’s wrong.

Before saying that Muslims are terrorists, read the Quran, understand it, then talk.

Before telling me that I’m a terrorist, ask terrorists to which religion they belong.

tt vv

Do not judge Islam based on the actions of some Muslims.

Not because some people who call themselves Muslims commit such horrible crimes that I should be seen as a criminal.

My name is Kaoutar, I’m a Muslim, I want peace, tolerance, and respect… No war… No violence… No terrorism.

My name is Kaoutar, I’m a Muslim… When I meet you, I’ll begin with saying السلام عليكم:  As-salamu alaykum… This is our way of greeting, and it literally means: “peace be upon you”.

My name is Kaoutar, I’m a Muslim, I’m proud to be a Muslim, and I’m NOT a terrorist.

I’m ashamed that still in the 21th century, where information is more available than anytime before, I’m still defending and explaining my way of living to others… I’m still explaining what the second-largest religion in the world is all about.

I wonder when it will come the day where I will say the word “Islam”, and every one will get it with no need to explain it…

Maybe, someday, maybe, one day…

a MUSLIMM

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: I’m Lovely!! | Logistical Blonde

  2. I absolutely love the message of this post, would it be ok with you if I reblogged it onto my blog and linked back so people can come check it out here?

  3. Reblogged this on The Secret Muhajaba and commented:
    As-salamu alaikum everyone- I planned to reblog this post a long time ago, but things have been hectic and there is just not a lot of time. It is a great post from an amazing blog, and I encourage you all to go check it out. Insha Allah this is the first post in a two post series, and in the second post I will raise I bit of a counter point from an article I recently read. Until then!

Leave a Reply

