Sarah Kay… A poet and more…

Standard

Salam dear friends,

The past Sunday was the International Women’s Day, and I thought of sharing with you some of the brilliant women that you need to know about ๐Ÿ™‚

One of these women is a young lady who inspires me in every possible way and I just love her.. I’m talking about the talented: Sarah Kay ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s been weeks since I last watched her videos.. My friend reminds me of her today, and I thought I need to share with you and you need to watch her and know her ๐Ÿ˜‰

I first found out about her 2 or 3 years ago, and looking intoย her bio, I have a lot of things in common with her.. I love that ๐Ÿ™‚

To give more information about her, I took this from her Facebook page, and it’s lovely:

Sarah Kay is a New Yorker. a poetry writer and reader. a spoken word poetry teacher. the founder and co-director of Project V.O.I.C.E. with Phil Kaye. a witty banter enthusiast. a postcard lover. a documentary filmmaker. a foodie. a playwright. a singer. a songwriter. a photographer. a best-selling author of the book B. an editor for Write Bloody Publishing. a Gemini. a mediocre driver at best. a musical theater geek. a smoothie expert. the daughter of a Taoist mother and a Brooklynese father. a hapa. less cool than her little brother. an alum of the United Nations International School. an alum of Brown University. an alum of Brown University Graduate Schoolโ€™s Masters Program in the Art of Teaching Secondary English. a recipient of an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from Grinnell College.

Her talks and spoken words are just mind changing ๐Ÿ™‚

I want to share with you some of my favorite videos of her.. Enjoy and share โค

An Origin Story

A LOVE LETTER

This may be the first video I saw of her ๐Ÿ˜‰

Worst Poetry

Or it may be this one ๐Ÿ˜‰

If I should have a daughter

When Love Arrives

The Type

Postcards

And More…ย 

And no matter how many land mines erupt in a minute, be sure your mind lands on the beauty of this funny place called life.

4 responses »

  1. Hey! We’re twinsies then because I also love Sarah Kay and I also found out about her like two years ago! Her poetry is amazing she’s my favorite poet and definitely someone I look up to writing wise…

Leave a Reply

