Kaoutar’s Book Thoughts: Three Men in a Boat

Standard

Salam dear readers,

These are my thoughts on Three Men in Boat by Jerome K. Jerome.

I’ve just finished reading this book. It took me awhile to read it, but I read most of it in the past 3 days, so I think that is a good thing 📚📚📚📚📚 “Let your boat of life be light, packed with only what you need – a homely home and simple pleasures, one or two friends, worth the name, someone to love and someone to love you, a cat, a dog, and a pipe or two, enough to eat and enough to wear, and a little more than enough to drink; for thirst is a dangerous thing. ” ☺📚☺📚☺📚☺ I give it a 4 ☆ out of 5. At first, I thought of giving it 3,5 but it’s worth more. It made me smile, laugh, and think. It is full of knowledge, and it just brushes up my British history knowledge. At some point, it can seem hard to follow, specially with the heavy description of London streets, rivers, and monuments. But it’s just a unique book. I don’t know why, but while reading it, it keeps reminding me of Charlie Chaplin and all those silent funny movies. I imagined the characters as those actors with their outfit, hats, and all those beautiful characteristics. It is also based on real events that the author and his friends experienced, so that’s definitely a plus. The book shows that the author is a man of experience, that he knows what he’s talking about, that he has a very smart sense of humor, and that he’s wise. I really recommend this to all of you dear readers, especially to the ones who like a good funny British classic. 🔭📚🔭📚📚🔭📚🔭 That's it… I’m going to go back now to reading my other Arabic book 😊☺😊 #me #reading #books #bookstagram #bookphotography #bookworm #morocco #marrakech #instalike #instagood #beauty #nature #igreads #currentread #whatareyoureading #boat #classic #كتب #اقرأ #كتبي ر

A post shared by Kaoutar Chahbane (@kaoutar_chahbane) on

I read this book last month, and I already expressed how much I liked it. Who says that British classic humor can be hard to grasp? This book shows absolutely the opposite.This meant to be a travelogue, but ended up as a very funny book.

This is the story of three men – Jerome and his two friends, Harris and George and their dog. They decide to take a trip in a boat (something that was common in those days) in the River Thames in Oxford, England to cure themselves after they suffered from some weird ailment.  While narrating, he mentions all the villages and landmarks he and his friends pass, such as Marlow, Hampton Church, Magna Carta Island, … The books is also full of funny stories that happened to the characters or people they know. These stories will make you laugh out loud. There are stories of friends, historical figures, and even stories that happened to Montmorency, the dog.

The book also describes the common events  and situations that can happen in our everyday life. Even for today’s modern life, these situations are still relevant. You can still relate to the characters/ real people.  It has a beautiful sense of wisdom combined with a brilliant wit, which you can just love 😀

It refreshes your knowledge of many things. 3 years ago, I took a “British Culture”class, so this reminds me of what I like about that subject. I like studying and knowing more about the British history, so I really liked it when he was talking about the Magna Carta, the history behind certain streets and homes, and the earliest kings and queens of the UK,

Things I did not like: The ending was a bit quick, since their return journey was not described in full detailed, and it was just in one chapter. Also, sometimes you will find it hard to keep with some of the description, but you can’t help but love it.

I recommend this for the following reasons:

  1. It’s a classic. No need to explain more
  2. It’s funny in a smart way. For example, there is this “German language” story that made me giggle, and I’m sure it will give you the same feel.
  3. It’s full of knowledge. I’m sure you like books that make you know more, so go and try this 😉

Rate: 4/5

I have chosen to change this section from “book reviews” to “Kaoutar’s Book Thoughts”, they are my own spontaneous first thoughts; because I don’t want to give a full detailed review. These are just my thoughts on a certain book: why I loved it/ hated it. I love talking about books, but I don’t like to spoil them 😉

This is my favorite quote in the book. I actually highlighted it in my copy, which I rarely do (try not to do/ hate to do) in books.

“Let your boat of life be light, packed with only what you need – a homely home and simple pleasures, one or two friends, worth the name, someone to love and someone to love you, a cat, a dog, and a pipe or two, enough to eat and enough to wear, and a little more than enough to drink; for thirst is a dangerous thing. ”

 

That is for today. Keep reading books, and checking my blog 😉 Talk to you soon insha’ALLAH.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

