My Life in Parts: Theatre. . . Part |

Standard

Salam dear all.

In this ” My Life in Parts” section of the blog, I will try to share with different stories and parts of my life. I hope you’ll enjoy it. Your feedback is always important.

Today, I want to share with you my story with Theatre. Theatre was a big part of my life in a certain period of my life, and sharing this with you is very important for me.

Actually, all this started thanks to the YaLa program that I’m taking part in. In one of the tasks, we were asked to write about an event or anything in our life that had an important impact on our life. I decided to talk about my favourite world as a child: Theatre.

For those of you who don’t know, I was a part of a theatre ’club’ when I was a kid, and so, this is my story, Part 1.

story to share

A good time 😉

 

Theatre: My own Peculiar World

This story is not finished… yet.

In a world of cruel reality
It is somehow compulsory
To find a way
To stay away
To find magic
In some paculiar world of magic.

My story starts with a dream, a decision, and determination. It was at the age of 10 that I decided to be an actress (not for a lifetime though). I was that kind of kid who wants and thinks herself capable of doing different things at once. Our primary school organized annual auditions/training for an annual school play. And that year, I was determined to be part of it. It was a very professional play for a primary school performance. There were auditions and training before getting to be picked.

I loved acting mainly because I love anything that was magical, anything that was peculiar. And for me theatre has all the necessary ingredients to be the most magical thing in the world.

For days, all I could think of is that play and how it would be beautiful to be part of it. I was obsessed. I started imagining myself in different customs, playing different characters, and performing memorable performances. I would wake up on a Sunday morning, stare into the mirror, and start talking to myself, crying with no particular reason, then laughing out loud just for the sake of fun. That’s how I felt about acting, FUN. I even convinced my little sister to join me although she was not fond of the whole theatre thing. OK, to be honest, she hated it. I would act out different scenes in front of my parents. I loved playing the villain, just for the sake of making the evil laugh. Seriously, who wouldn’t love performing the ” muwhahaha” laughter.

It was Sunday morning, cold, cloudy, and beautiful. My favourite kind of days. I woke up early, woke my sister, got dressed. We were about to leave when I noticed that it is unusually dark outside. I checked the time to find out that we still have more than one hour to leave. I was that much excited. We sat at the kitchen table, waiting.

After the auditions and the training, I got picked for a main role in the play. I was very happy and proud. The play was called ’A Sheep Called Mabrouk’. It was about a small sheep that goes missing, the aftermath of this event, and the reaction of the whole forest.

Looking back, I realize that the play was full of symbolism. I played the bear, the wise character in the play, who is the leader of the forest. Somehow in that play, the lion did not have much role to play except attending the celebrations. It was the bear that gives all the rules. The bear was a wise leader, wise enough to care about its people, and to make them the only priority. This character did whatever it can to find the lost Mabrouk, a single ordinary member of the community. That taught me that any capable human being can be a leader. You don’t have to be the lion. You just need to be you. You just need to care.

 

To be continued. . .

Talk to you soon insha’ALLAH 😊 😊 😊

One response »

  1. “crying with no particular reason, then laughing out loud just for the sake of fun.. ” this line impacted me most in my inside. looking forward to the other parts of your life! Allh bless you.

Leave a Reply

